Horse Talk!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hello new members

4 posters

Go down

Hello new members Empty Hello new members

Post by DressageNerd Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:43 am

I probably won't have much time to really be on here but if you're starting a forum. I thought I should be supportive.

Alright to start, my name is Cassandra and I am a dressage rider. I used to event on a horse named Kahlua. Kahlua was put down in 2012, I did not own him at the time but he had a bad colic episode.

I used to work as a working student so I rode about 13 different horses over the course of about a week or so for nearly 2 years. And then off and on for the past 2 years I've had a rotation of about 2-4 different horses to ride with an array of different personalities. Not too long ago I was riding a very green, kind of hot, nervous horse who had had a lot of bad training and was working on just laying a path for him, so life could be easy. He was very smart and was doing quite well before he left, I could put both reins in one hand and move up or down into a transition and he'd stay connected but then I'd have to get to riding him again. As is the way with green horses, give them a direction, help them where you can and leave them alone.

I also have done quite a bit of rehab on different horses and then my main horsey buddy is Sporty who is very quirky. But as quirky as he is, I also love him very, very much. He and I make a good team and every mountain we climb I'm very proud of. I'm very proud of our one handed transitions when he's submissive and cooperative enough to do them and I'm focussed enough to ride the rest of him. I'm proud because it takes everything I have to ride that horse. My focus, my strength, my quickness in the application of the aids, and assertiveness and correctness. But I'm proud to his partner and that we work well together.